email: |

August 15, 2017

CTSAMM MVT denied freedom of movement to the Lasu area, in Yei


As part of the CTSAMMs ongoing mission to monitor the permanent ceasefire and transitional security arrangements, the CTSAMM is currently undertaking a two week mission to the Yei area. The team is conducting a joint patrol with the United Nations Mission in South Sudan. Both the CTSAMM HQ and the Yei monitoring team followed all necessary procedures to gain access to the area including working with the civil and military leadership bodies on the ground. Despite being granted access assurances at both the central and local government levels, on 15th of August, 2017, the monitoring team was denied access by SPLA soldiers while attempting to travel to the Lasu area, south west of Yei Town which is said to be under the control of Opposition Forces. The CTSAMM is working at both the HQ and monitoring team level to resolve this issue and ensure the team gains access as soon as possible.

The CTSAMM would like to reiterate that it has a legal right to be present in South Sudan as stipulated in Chapter II of the Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan. The CTSAMM is operating according to processes and accords which have been agreed to by the warring Parties, regional and international partners.

About this author


CTSAMM is an institute of the Agreement on the Resolution of the conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (ARCSS) signed by the Government and SPLM/A-IO in August 2015.