Compostion & Functions

The CTSAMM works under the leadership of Major General Ibrahim Abduljelill Ethiopia. The CTSAMM is generously supported by IGAD Member States, the IGAD Partners Forum, as well as through financial and in-kind contributions from the US, UK, EU, China, Denmark, Netherlands, Italy, Japan, Sweden, Norway and Germany.

There are over 200 CTSAMM personnel from 16 different countries. Some are based at the Headquarters in Juba (CTSAMM HQ) and others in the 12 Monitoring and Verification Teams (MVTs) in the most conflict-affected areas of South Sudan.

The CTSAMM Chairperson is supported by a deputy, several advisers and liaison officers. They coordinate the field monitoring teams and help direct investigations. They also engage with key partners such as the AU and UNMISS, as well as other stakeholders such as humanitarian organizations, Party representatives, community leaders, donors and members of the international community.

CTSAMM MVTs are deployed in Aweil, Bentiu, Bor, Juba, Leer, Malakal, Pibor, Torit, Wau, Yambio, Renk and Bunj. The Ayod Nassir and Yei MVTs work from Juba. The MVTs can be deployed anywhere at short notice and will ensure deteriorating security situations in which civilians are at risk are prioritized. Security and some logistical support for the teams is provided by UNMISS. Each team consists of 13 people, including team leaders, observers and support staff, as well as community liaison officers and  liaison representatives from the two Parties in conflict.

The monitors, many of whom are former military officers, are skilled in investigation techniques and have received training in the implementation of the PCTSA, as well as international humanitarian and human rights law. They are especially sensitive to issues of gender-based violence and child soldier recruitment, among other aspects of civilian protection.