IGADs Monitoring and Verification Mechanism (MVM) setup to monitor the Cessation of Hostilities Agreement (CoHA) signed by the warring Parties in January 2014 has now transitioned to the Ceasefire and Transitional Security Arrangements Monitoring Mechanism (CTSAMVM). The CTSAMVM was established following the signing of the Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan (ARCSS) in August 2015. The peace agreement stipulates that the CTSAMM shall be responsible for monitoring and verifying the implementation Permanent Ceasefire and Transitional Security Arrangements (PCTSA) as laid out in Chapter II of the ARCSS and the subsequent PCTSA workshops that took place thereafter. In December 2017 the convening of the High Level Revitalisation Forum (HLRF) on the ARCSS led to the signing of a new Agreement on the Cessation of Hostilities (ACoH). The major provisions of the agreement remain the same as those in previous agreements however this new agreement allowed for Other Armed Groups to be considered Party to the ceasefire framework. The CTSAMVM has now has the mandate to monitor the implementation of the ACoH.

The CTSAMVM is chaired by Maj. Gen. Desta Abiche Ageno of Ethiopia a representative of IGAD. The CTSAMVM Board comprises representatives from the warring Parties, the Former Detainees (FDs), other Political Parties, the Women’s Bloc, South Sudan Womens Coalition (SSWC), Civil Society Organizations, the Youth, Eminent Personalities, IGAD, the African Union (AU), China, the Troika (The United States United Kingdom and Norway, the United Nations Mission in South Sudan (UNMISS), the European Union (EU) and the IGAD Partners Forum. These representatives are considered as the CTSAMVM Members.

The CTSAMM reports to the IGAD Council of Ministers and the Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission (JMEC). The JMEC has the responsibility of overseeing the implementation of the peace agreement as a whole and is the parent body, not only to the CTSAMVM, but also the National Constitution Amendment Committee (NCAC), the Joint Military Ceasefire Commission (JMCC), the Economic and Financial Management Authority (EFMA), the Strategic Defense and Security Review (SDSR) and the Board of Special Reconstruction Fund (BSRF). In turn the JMEC report to the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), the African Union and the UN Security Council amongst others.